Are you new to the state of Oregon? Maybe you’re just passing through or visiting family and you want to stop at a local dispensary. Whatever it is, you probably have some questions regarding recreational cannabis laws. Whatever the reason, you’re in the right place. Here is your 101 guide to recreational cannabis in Oregon.
If you are 21 years of age and older you can consume recreational marijuana in Oregon. The use or possession of marijuana by anyone under the age of 21 is illegal, including home consumption.
When & Where
Adults 21 and older can use recreational marijuana at home or on private property. You may not smoke or use recreational marijuana in a public place. A public space is “a place to which the general public has access and includes, but is not limited to, hallways, lobbies, and other parts of apartment houses and hotels not constituting rooms or apartments designed for actual residence, and highways, streets, schools, places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and premises used in connection with public passenger transportation.” Also, remember it is at a landlord’s discretion to allow or deny the use of marijuana on their property so, be sure to ask before using it on their property.
The PUBLIC possession limits for recreational users are:
- 1 oz. usable marijuana (dried leaves & flower)
- 1 oz. cannabinoid extracts or concentrates
- 16 oz. cannabinoid product in solid form
- 72 oz. cannabinoid product in liquid form
- 4 immature marijuana plants
- 10 marijuana seeds
Private possession limits are the same as public but, you can have up to 8 ounces of usable marijuana at a residence or on private property.
Oregonians can grow up to four plants per residence. No, that does not mean four adults can have 16 plants. Four plants per residence, regardless of how many people live there.
Where to Purchase Cannabis
You can purchase marijuana items at any OLCC licensed retail location, but we prefer you come visit us here at Substance Market or check out our Bend Oregon Dispensary Menu.
Driving & Travel
Current DUII laws have not changed. That means no driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII), including impairment from the use of marijuana. You also cannot take marijuana across state lines even if it’s legal in the state you are traveling too. That means you cannot travel to Washington with marijuana even though it’s legal. It is a federal offense.
Gifting & Giveaways
Gifting & giveaways between individuals who are 21 years of age and older is allowed but may not have any financial consideration.
Financial consideration includes:
- Cover charges
- Tip jars
- Fundraiser events
- purchase required
Well, enjoy, be safe, and remember to follow the Oregon Cannabis 101 guide and laws for use of cannabis in the state of Oregon.